top of page

Post Live Q & A

This past Sunday, March 5th, I had the opportunity to do a live Q & A session for an online Support group; I wasn't quite sure how I was going to feel or if I was even going to follow through as I am not a speaker at all, to be honest I hate attention , it's just a part of who I am.... Good news though... I did it! I couldn't help the passion that consumed me and overall I felt good about the session, aside from my rambling that is; It is extremely hard to convey the amount of "crap" you endured over an 11 year period into a 1 hour webcast.

I found myself getting emotional talking about my past, these were emotions I thought I had laid to rest but it just shows they never really do die out, we just are able to deal with them differently.

I took quite a bit away from the webcast; I never realized the extent of abuse and it's power over people. I couldn't help but want to hug and pray for each of these women. I had one goal, to encourage these women to speak up and know they are worth so much more than they give themselves credit for. They are standing in the exact same place as I was not too long ago; lost, defeated, hopeless, afraid and alone. I received quite a bit of feedback following the webcast, never in my life have I felt more motivated and determined.

It is unfortunate that more Domestic violence cases aren't reported; If you are being abused or know of anyone who is I highly encourage you to report it to authorities or anonymously to the many hotlines available today. As victims, we tend to give our abusers too much power and control that we neglect to do right by ourselves or do anything at all. It is extremely hard to leave and if reporting it will help make a difference or even save someones life then do it! I understand reasons behind not doing it, but i'd rather save someones life then to care about how someone looks at me. These are not only women, they are someones mother or daughter; answer just one question... if it were your mother or daughter, what would you do? I thought so.

 

How to report Abuse:

Call 911

800-799-7233

Resources:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page